About Department

Department of Zoology was among the 8 departments created when the Faculty of Science was established on 30the April, 1992 . However, on 13th July 1998, following the reorganization of academic units in the University, the Department of Zoology, Botany and Microbiology were merged into one Department called Department of Biological Sciences. In 2002, the Department of Biological Sciences was split into two: Department of Zoology and Department of Botany/Microbiology and on 24th September 2007, the Senate of the University formally changed the Department's name from Department of Zoology to Department of Animal & Environmental Biology. The Zoology Programme started with a pioneer student population of nine (9) who matriculated in November 1992 for 1992/93 session with an academic staff strength of six(6). Since then, the programme has witnessed significant expansion in staff strength and student population . Currently, the student population is over 300. The Department also runs a Post graduate programme at Masters and Ph.D levels covering areas in Entomology, Parasitology, Hydrobiology and Pest/ Disease Management and a Post Graduate Diploma in Environmental Biology.