About Department

Welcome! The Department of Microbiology was established at inception of the university in 1992 by the administration of Late Prof. M. F. A. Ukoli (FAS). It was later merged with Zoology and Botany to form Department of Biological Science in February, 1999. After accreditation, the Department of Biological Science was separated into two to include Departments of Zoology and Botany/Microbiology. The last full accreditation was got for Microbiology in 2005 with this arrangement. However, in February 2006, the administration of Prof. J. O. Enaohwo (JP) separated the Botany/Microbiology Department to become two departments (Botany department and Microbiology department). In 2010, the department was given interim accreditation but got full accreditation in 2012 and 2020.