About Department

The Department of mathematics was one of the foundational Departments in the Faculty of science at the inception of the Delta State University, created from Bendel State University, Ekpoma in 1992. The original name of the Department was “Mathematics and Physics Department” which operated two degree programmes – mathematics and physics leading to the award of B.Sc. Degree as single honours in the two subject areas. By 1993, the Department split into the Department of Mathematics running B.Sc. Mathematics and B.Sc. Industrial mathematics while the department of physics went on its own. The department has undergone considerable development in terms of teaching and research, staff culture and achievements. It is worthy to note that the department maintains unbroken record of invaluable teaching , offering courses to most science based faculties and Departments. In 2006, the Department started to nourish and groom the Computer Science Unit which matured and became the new Department of Computer Science during the 2016 /2017 academic Session. Tracing down the memory lane, many of our alumni have distinguished themselves in Academic, Business, industry and in government. Our staff have published in the most competitive and best mathematical journals the world over.